IMU-Simons African Fellowship Program in Mathematical Research 2022/23

IMU-Simons African Fellowship Program in Mathematical Research 2023/23

IMU-Simons African Fellowship Program in Mathematical Research: Applications are now open for the (International Mathematics Union) IMU-Simons African Fellowship Program for Scientists in Africa carrying out Mathematical research. The Fellowship seeks to support research sabbaticals for mathematicians from African developing countries to travel to an internationally known mathematical center of excellence for collaborative research.

The IMU-Simons African Fellowship is funded by the Simons Foundation, New York, the USA with the mission to advance the frontiers of research in mathematics and the basic sciences. They sponsor a range of programs in the sciences, including grants programs in mathematics and the physical sciences.

Check: Princeton Arts Fellowship – Eligibility



Company/Organization: Simons Foundation

Program Type: Graduate Fellowship

Program Location: Worldwide


Program Duration: Not specified

Available Slots: Several

Study Level: Researchers


Minimum Qualification: PhD

Nationality: See Eligible countries (below)

Application Deadline: 1st October 2022


Check: Top 20 Common Scholarship Interview Questions In 2022

IMU-Simons African Fellowship Program | ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

To be eligible for the IMU-Simons African Fellowship Program for Mathematical Research:

  • Applicant must hold a valid doctoral degree (Ph.D.) in mathematics.
  • Applicant must be based (place of work) in an African developing country.
  • Applicant must be employed as a mathematician in a faculty of a university or an equivalent higher education institution.
  • Applicant should already have established contact with a mathematician in the host institution in the mathematical center of excellence worldwide and should have a definite research plan.
  • Applicant should have been granted appropriate leave of absence from his/her home institution which will cover the period of the visit.
  • The application must also be accompanied by a formal letter of invitation from the host institution, which specifies the period of the (short) research visit and the extent of the host institution’s financial commitment and support.
  • Eligible countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, D.R. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Tunisia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zanzibar, Zimbabwe.

Check: American Association Of University Women Fellowships And Grants


Application Procedures

How-to-Apply: Interested applicants for the scholarship are to complete the online application by following the procedures stated below:

  • Upload all requested documents (two CVs: of the host and the applicant, detailed Research plan, invitation letter by the host institution, letter by the home institution, tentative budget details in USD) as 1 joint PDF to the Online Application Form.
  • A picture of you for our website (upload separately to the Online Application Form).

Visit the Official Website for Further Details

Leave a Reply
You May Also Like